The Kigali Principles on the Protection of Civilians

29 May 2015

The Kigali Principles on the Protection of Civilians are a non-binding set of eighteen (18) pledges for the effective and thorough implementation of the protection of civilians in UN peacekeeping. The principles on the Protection of Civilians emanated from the High-level International Conference on the Protection of Civilians held in Rwanda on 28-29 May 2015.

The Republic of Rwanda, the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the United States of America initiated the Principles, bringing together the first nine (9) signatories: Bangladesh, Ethiopia, Italy, Netherlands, Rwanda, Senegal, Sri Lanka, Uganda, and Uruguay.

The Kigali Principles address the most relevant aspects of peacekeeping, including assessment and planning, force generation, training and equipping personnel, performance and accountability. While they are framed around the protection of civilians, the responsible implementation of the principles would address much broader deficiencies that undermine the effectiveness of peacekeeping operations conducted in volatile situations, including peacekeeper abuse.

Signatories to the Kigali Principles on the Protection of Civilians


Sign up for our newsletter and stay up to date on R2P news and alerts

Follow us on social media


Global Centre for the Responsibility to Protect

Ralph Bunche Institute for International Studies
The Graduate Center, CUNY
365 Fifth Avenue, Suite 5203
New York, NY 10016-4309, USA

Phone: +1 212-817-1929 |
R2P Resources & Statements